Home > Open Source > Pidgin failed to connect to yahoo behind firewall

Pidgin failed to connect to yahoo behind firewall

I am running my Pidgin behind a firewall that is blocking Yahoo port 5050. It is keep me annoyed and made me to use Meebo to keep connecting. I can just use official Yahoo IM client to connect but well…… I just preferred OSS applications to prop’s apps.

Currently, Pidgin  do not support Firewall with no proxy option which make the connection to yahoo is painful. However I stumbled upon this page that give me an idea how to make it posibble.

http://developer.pidgin.im/wiki/Protocol%20Specific%20Questions#WhycantIconnecttoYahoofrombehindafirewallorNAT

I have change the default port from 5050 to 80 and alhamdulillah! It is connecting!

Change the default port! then lets pray.....

Change the default port! then lets pray.....

Categories: Open Source Tags: , , ,
  1. 25/08/2008 at 8:51 am

    If there is a transparent proxy is working in the network, the tips wont succeed. To go through the proxy, we need to have the connection to be wrap with something.

  2. Thanks!
    10/03/2009 at 2:08 pm

    Worked for me! I have been vexed by this issue for a long time and don’t know why I only now decided to google a fix. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

